PUBLISHED: 28 June 2022


Saturday July 22, 2023 7:30 p.m.
Jack Singer Concert Hall Stage (Art Commons)

William Byrd The Bells
Ligeti Hungarian Rock
John Adams Shaker Loops
Beethoven Archduke Trio (Piano Trio No. 7 in B-flat Major, Op. 97)

Get ready for a musical roller coaster ride for the ages! We start in the late Renaissance era, with an intricate work that imitates the peals of tuned church bells overlaid with a closing fantasia, then fast forward to Ligeti’s Hungarian Rock, a short but intense piece featuring a folk music-inspired rhythmic pattern. Shaker Loops is a ferociously exhilarating sonic adventure that references ripples and oscillations in bodies of water, the vibration of strings, and the image of Shakers dancing to repetitive, energetic music. Finally, the most beautiful of all Beethoven’s Piano Trios, the “Archduke” is as grand and noble as its title suggests. With its bountiful beauty, genial vitality, and a beautifully constructed design, a simple, heartfelt tune expands into a transcendent work of pure poetry.

6:30 PM: Prelude talk by Mark Limacher

Shaker Loops by John Adams presented under license from G. Schirmer Inc. and Associated Music Publishers, copyright owners.